Yellow Giant Hyssop (Agastache nepetoides)

  • Yellow Giant Hyssop (Agastache Nepetoides)
    Credit: Digigalos | Own work by uploader | License: PD US EPA
  • Yellow Giant Hyssop (Agastache Nepetoides)
    Credit: USDA-NRCS PLANTS Database / Britton, N.L., and A. Brown. 1913. Illustrated flora of the northern states and Canada. Vol. 3: 111. | USDA PLANTS Database | License: PD USDA

Agastache Nepetoides, or more commonly know as Yellow Giant Hyssop, is a subshrub forb/herb of the genus Agastache. Its duration is perennial which means it will grow year after year. Agastache Nepetoides or Yellow Giant Hyssop's floral region is North America US Lower 48, specifically in the states of Alabama, Arkansas, Connecticut, Delaware, Georgia, Iowa, Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Massachusetts, Maryland, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, North Carolina, Nebraska, New Jersey, New York, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Virginia, Vermont and Wisconsin.

  • Category: Dicot
  • Genus: Agastache
  • Family: Lamiaceae
  • Order: Lamiales
  • Class: Magnoliopsida
  • Division: Magnoliophyta
  • Duration: Perennial
  • Growth Habit: Subshrub Forb/herb
  • Native Status: L48 (N) CAN (N)
  • State T/E Status: CT (SC) NY (T) VT (T) WI (T)
  • State T/E Common Name: CT (yellow giant hyssop) NY (yellow giant-hyssop) VT (yellow giant hyssop) WI (yellow giant hyssop)
  • National Wetland Indicator Status: FACU FAC
  • Regional Wetland Indicator Status: 1(FACU) 2(FAC) 3(FACU) 4(FAC) 5(FAC) 6(FAC)

Browse Plants by State

Alabama Alaska Arizona Arkansas California Colorado Connecticut Delaware Florida Georgia Hawaii Idaho Illinois Indiana Iowa Kansas Kentucky Louisiana Maine Maryland Massachusetts Michigan Minnesota Mississippi Missouri Montana Nebraska Nevada New Hampshire New Jersey New Mexico New York North Carolina North Dakota Ohio Oklahoma Oregon Pennsylvania Rhode Island South Carolina South Dakota Tennessee Texas Utah Vermont Virginia Washington West Virginia Wisconsin Wyoming