Western Oakfern (Gymnocarpium dryopteris)

  • Western Oakfern (Gymnocarpium Dryopteris)
    Credit: Harriet L. Keeler | Keeler, Harriet L. (1900). Our Native Trees and How to Identify Them. New York: Charles Scriber's Sons. | License: PD Nordens Flora
  • Western Oakfern (Gymnocarpium Dryopteris)
    Credit: de:Benutzer:Grienste... | Own work | License: CC-BY-SA-3.0-migrated GFDL
  • Western Oakfern (Gymnocarpium Dryopteris)
    Credit: by Thomas Moore ; edited by John Lindley ; nature-printed by Henry Bradbury. | The ferns of Great Britain and Ireland. | License: PD Old PD-Art (PD-old)

Gymnocarpium Dryopteris, or more commonly know as Western Oakfern, is a forb/herb (a forb/herb is a non-woody plant that is not a grass) of the genus Gymnocarpium. Its duration is perennial which means it will grow year after year. Gymnocarpium Dryopteris or Western Oakfern's floral region is North America US Lower 48 and Alaska, specifically in the states of Alaska, Arizona, Colorado, Connecticut, Iowa, Idaho, Illinois, Massachusetts, Maryland, Maine, Michigan, Minnesota, Montana, North Dakota, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, Ohio, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Dakota, Utah, Vermont, Washington, Wisconsin and Wyoming.

  • Category: Fern
  • Genus: Gymnocarpium
  • Family: Dryopteridaceae
  • Order: Polypodiales
  • Class: Filicopsida
  • Division: Pteridophyta
  • Duration: Perennial
  • Growth Habit: Forb/herb
  • Native Status: L48 (N) AK (N) CAN (N) GL (N) SPM (N)
  • State T/E Status: IA (T) IL (E) MD (E) NY (EV) OH (T) RI (T)
  • State T/E Common Name: IA (oak fern) IL (oak fern) MD (oak fern) NY (oak fern) OH (oak fern) RI (oak fern)
  • National Wetland Indicator Status: UPL FAC
  • Regional Wetland Indicator Status: 1(UPL) 2(NI) 3(FAC) 4(FACU) 7(FAC) 8(FACU) 9(FAC*) A(FACU)

Browse Plants by State

Alabama Alaska Arizona Arkansas California Colorado Connecticut Delaware Florida Georgia Hawaii Idaho Illinois Indiana Iowa Kansas Kentucky Louisiana Maine Maryland Massachusetts Michigan Minnesota Mississippi Missouri Montana Nebraska Nevada New Hampshire New Jersey New Mexico New York North Carolina North Dakota Ohio Oklahoma Oregon Pennsylvania Rhode Island South Carolina South Dakota Tennessee Texas Utah Vermont Virginia Washington West Virginia Wisconsin Wyoming