Threeflower Melicgrass (Melica nitens)


Melica Nitens, or more commonly know as Threeflower Melicgrass, is a graminoid of the genus Melica. Its duration is perennial which means it will grow year after year. Melica Nitens or Threeflower Melicgrass's floral region is North America US Lower 48, specifically in the states of Alabama, Arkansas, Arizona, Colorado, Georgia, Iowa, Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Maryland, Minnesota, Missouri, North Carolina, Nebraska, New Mexico, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia and Wisconsin.

  • Category: Monocot
  • Genus: Melica
  • Family: Poaceae
  • Order: Cyperales
  • Class: Liliopsida
  • Division: Magnoliophyta
  • Duration: Perennial
  • Growth Habit: Graminoid
  • Native Status: L48 (N)
  • State T/E Status: IN (T) MD (T) MN (T) OH (E) PA (T)
  • State T/E Common Name: IN (three-flower melic grass) MD (three-flowered melicgrass) MN (three-flowered melic) OH (three-flowered melic) PA (three-flowered meltic-grass)

Browse Plants by State

Alabama Alaska Arizona Arkansas California Colorado Connecticut Delaware Florida Georgia Hawaii Idaho Illinois Indiana Iowa Kansas Kentucky Louisiana Maine Maryland Massachusetts Michigan Minnesota Mississippi Missouri Montana Nebraska Nevada New Hampshire New Jersey New Mexico New York North Carolina North Dakota Ohio Oklahoma Oregon Pennsylvania Rhode Island South Carolina South Dakota Tennessee Texas Utah Vermont Virginia Washington West Virginia Wisconsin Wyoming