Spotted Beebalm (Monarda punctata)

  • Spotted Beebalm (Monarda Punctata)
    Credit: Ted Bodner, Southern Weed Science Society, United States. |
    This image is at Forestry Images, a source for forest health, natural resources and silviculture images operated by The Bugwood Network at the University of Georgia and the USDA Forest Service.This tag does not indicate the copyright status of the attached work. A normal copyright tag is still required. See Commons:Licensing for more information.
    | License: CC-BY-3.0 GFDL
  • Spotted Beebalm (Monarda Punctata)
    Credit: Froemerve | Own work | License: PD

Monarda Punctata, or more commonly know as Spotted Beebalm, is a subshrub forb/herb of the genus Monarda. Its duration is annual which means it grows for one season only. Monarda Punctata or Spotted Beebalm's floral region is North America US Lower 48, specifically in the states of Alabama, Arkansas, California, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Iowa, Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Louisiana, Massachusetts, Maryland, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Mississippi, North Carolina, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia, Vermont and Wisconsin.

  • Category: Dicot
  • Genus: Monarda
  • Family: Lamiaceae
  • Order: Lamiales
  • Class: Magnoliopsida
  • Division: Magnoliophyta
  • Duration: Annual Biennial Perennial
  • Growth Habit: Subshrub Forb/herb
  • Native Status: L48 (N) CAN (N)
  • State T/E Status: KY (H) OH (E) PA (E)
  • State T/E Common Name: KY (spotted beebalm) OH (dotted horsemint) PA (spotted bee-balm)
  • National Wetland Indicator Status: UPL FAC
  • Regional Wetland Indicator Status: 1(UPL) 2(FAC) 3(UPL) 5(UPL) 6(UPL) 7(UPL)

Browse Plants by State

Alabama Alaska Arizona Arkansas California Colorado Connecticut Delaware Florida Georgia Hawaii Idaho Illinois Indiana Iowa Kansas Kentucky Louisiana Maine Maryland Massachusetts Michigan Minnesota Mississippi Missouri Montana Nebraska Nevada New Hampshire New Jersey New Mexico New York North Carolina North Dakota Ohio Oklahoma Oregon Pennsylvania Rhode Island South Carolina South Dakota Tennessee Texas Utah Vermont Virginia Washington West Virginia Wisconsin Wyoming