Shiny Wedgescale (Sphenopholis nitida)


Sphenopholis Nitida, or more commonly know as Shiny Wedgescale, is a graminoid of the genus Sphenopholis. Its duration is perennial which means it will grow year after year. Sphenopholis Nitida or Shiny Wedgescale's floral region is North America US Lower 48, specifically in the states of Alabama, Arkansas, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Louisiana, Massachusetts, Maryland, Michigan, Missouri, Mississippi, North Carolina, New Jersey, New York, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia and Vermont.

  • Category: Monocot
  • Genus: Sphenopholis
  • Family: Poaceae
  • Order: Cyperales
  • Class: Liliopsida
  • Division: Magnoliophyta
  • Duration: Perennial
  • Growth Habit: Graminoid
  • Native Status: L48 (N) CAN (N)
  • State T/E Status: MA (T) RI (SC) VT (E)
  • State T/E Common Name: MA (shining wedgegrass) RI (shining sphenopholis) VT (shiny wedgegrass)

Browse Plants by State

Alabama Alaska Arizona Arkansas California Colorado Connecticut Delaware Florida Georgia Hawaii Idaho Illinois Indiana Iowa Kansas Kentucky Louisiana Maine Maryland Massachusetts Michigan Minnesota Mississippi Missouri Montana Nebraska Nevada New Hampshire New Jersey New Mexico New York North Carolina North Dakota Ohio Oklahoma Oregon Pennsylvania Rhode Island South Carolina South Dakota Tennessee Texas Utah Vermont Virginia Washington West Virginia Wisconsin Wyoming