Sessile Joyweed (Alternanthera sessilis)

Sessile Joyweed (Alternanthera Sessilis)
Credit: Robert H. Mohlenbrock. USDA SCS. 1989. Midwest wetland flora: Field office illustrated guide to plant species. Midwest National Technical Center, Lincoln, NE. Courtesy of USDA NRCS Wetland Science Institute. | http://plants.usda.g... | License: PD

Alternanthera Sessilis, or more commonly know as Sessile Joyweed, is a forb/herb (a forb/herb is a non-woody plant that is not a grass) of the genus Alternanthera. Its duration is annual which means it grows for one season only. Alternanthera Sessilis or Sessile Joyweed's floral region is North America US Lower 48, Hawaii, Puerto Rico and The Virgin Islands, specifically in the states of Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Louisiana, Maryland, Mississippi, South Carolina and Texas.

  • Category: Dicot
  • Genus: Alternanthera
  • Family: Amaranthaceae
  • Order: Caryophyllales
  • Class: Magnoliopsida
  • Division: Magnoliophyta
  • Duration: Annual Perennial
  • Growth Habit: Forb/herb
  • Native Status: L48 (I) HI (I) PR (N) VI (N)
  • Federal Noxious Status: NW
  • Federal Noxious Common Name: sessile joyweed
  • State Noxious Status: AL (CAW) CA (Q) FL (NW) MA (P) MN (PNW) NC (CAW) OR (Q) SC (PP) VT (CAW)
  • State Noxious Common Name: AL (sessile joyweed) CA (sessile joyweed) FL (sessile joyweed) MA (sessile joyweed) MN (sessile joyweed) NC (sessile joyweed) OR (sessile joyweed) SC (sessile joyweed) VT (sessile joyweed)
  • PLANTS Invasive Status: STATE US
  • National Wetland Indicator Status: FACU FAC
  • Regional Wetland Indicator Status: 2(FACU) C(FAC) H(FAC)

Browse Plants by State

Alabama Alaska Arizona Arkansas California Colorado Connecticut Delaware Florida Georgia Hawaii Idaho Illinois Indiana Iowa Kansas Kentucky Louisiana Maine Maryland Massachusetts Michigan Minnesota Mississippi Missouri Montana Nebraska Nevada New Hampshire New Jersey New Mexico New York North Carolina North Dakota Ohio Oklahoma Oregon Pennsylvania Rhode Island South Carolina South Dakota Tennessee Texas Utah Vermont Virginia Washington West Virginia Wisconsin Wyoming