Scarlet Pimpernel (Anagallis arvensis)


Anagallis Arvensis, or more commonly know as Scarlet Pimpernel, is a forb/herb (a forb/herb is a non-woody plant that is not a grass) of the genus Anagallis. Its duration is annual which means it grows for one season only. Anagallis Arvensis or Scarlet Pimpernel's floral region is North America US Lower 48, Hawaii and Puerto Rico, specifically in the states of Alabama, Arkansas, Arizona, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Iowa, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Louisiana, Massachusetts, Maryland, Maine, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Mississippi, Montana, North Carolina, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, Nevada, New York, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, Vermont, Washington and Wisconsin.

  • Category: Dicot
  • Genus: Anagallis
  • Family: Primulaceae
  • Order: Primulales
  • Class: Magnoliopsida
  • Division: Magnoliophyta
  • Duration: Annual Biennial
  • Growth Habit: Forb/herb
  • Native Status: L48 (I) HI (I) PR (I) CAN (NI) GL (I)
  • PLANTS Invasive Status: KY N'EAST
  • National Wetland Indicator Status: UPL FACW-
  • Regional Wetland Indicator Status: 1(UPL*) 2(FACU+) 3(NI) 4(NI) 5(FAC) 6(FACW-) 7(FAC) 8(FAC+) 9(FAC) 0(FAC)

Browse Plants by State

Alabama Alaska Arizona Arkansas California Colorado Connecticut Delaware Florida Georgia Hawaii Idaho Illinois Indiana Iowa Kansas Kentucky Louisiana Maine Maryland Massachusetts Michigan Minnesota Mississippi Missouri Montana Nebraska Nevada New Hampshire New Jersey New Mexico New York North Carolina North Dakota Ohio Oklahoma Oregon Pennsylvania Rhode Island South Carolina South Dakota Tennessee Texas Utah Vermont Virginia Washington West Virginia Wisconsin Wyoming