Grow Your Garden

Northern Blue Monkshood (Aconitum noveboracense)

Northern Blue Monkshood (Aconitum Noveboracense)
Credit: Johann Georg Sturm. Painted by Jacob Sturm | Fig. 40 of Johann Georg Sturm, Deutschlands Flora in Abbildungen. (published by Kurt Stüber) at | License: PD USDA

Aconitum Noveboracense, or more commonly know as Northern Blue Monkshood, is a forb/herb (a forb/herb is a non-woody plant that is not a grass) of the genus Aconitum. Its duration is perennial which means it will grow year after year. Aconitum Noveboracense or Northern Blue Monkshood's floral region is North America US Lower 48, specifically in the states of Iowa, New York, Ohio and Wisconsin.

  • Category: Dicot
  • Genus: Aconitum
  • Family: Ranunculaceae
  • Order: Ranunculales
  • Class: Magnoliopsida
  • Division: Magnoliophyta
  • Duration: Perennial
  • Growth Habit: Forb/herb
  • Native Status: L48 (N)
  • Federal T/E Status: Threatened
  • Federal T/E Common Name: northern blue monkshood
  • State T/E Status: IA (T) NY (T) OH (E) WI (T)
  • State T/E Common Name: IA (northern wild monkshood) NY (northern monk's-hood) OH (northern monkshood) WI (northern wild monkshood)

comments powered by Disqus

Browse Plants by State

Alabama Alaska Arizona Arkansas California Colorado Connecticut Delaware Florida Georgia Hawaii Idaho Illinois Indiana Iowa Kansas Kentucky Louisiana Maine Maryland Massachusetts Michigan Minnesota Mississippi Missouri Montana Nebraska Nevada New Hampshire New Jersey New Mexico New York North Carolina North Dakota Ohio Oklahoma Oregon Pennsylvania Rhode Island South Carolina South Dakota Tennessee Texas Utah Vermont Virginia Washington West Virginia Wisconsin Wyoming