Marijuana (Cannabis sativa)


Cannabis Sativa, or more commonly know as Marijuana, is a forb/herb (a forb/herb is a non-woody plant that is not a grass) of the genus Cannabis. Its duration is annual which means it grows for one season only. Cannabis Sativa or Marijuana's floral region is North America US Lower 48, Hawaii and Puerto Rico, specifically in the states of Alabama, Arkansas, Arizona, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Iowa, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Louisiana, Massachusetts, Maryland, Maine, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Mississippi, Montana, North Carolina, North Dakota, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, Vermont, Washington, Wisconsin and Wyoming.

  • Category: Dicot
  • Genus: Cannabis
  • Family: Cannabaceae
  • Order: Urticales
  • Class: Magnoliopsida
  • Division: Magnoliophyta
  • Duration: Annual
  • Growth Habit: Forb/herb
  • Native Status: L48 (I) HI (I) PR (I) CAN (I)
  • State Noxious Status: IL (NW) MN (PNW) MO (NW) PA (NW) WV (NW)
  • State Noxious Common Name: IL (marijuana) MN (hemp) MO (marijuana) PA (marijuana) WV (marijuana)
  • National Wetland Indicator Status: FACU- FAC
  • Regional Wetland Indicator Status: 1(FACU) 2(FACU) 3(FAC) 4(FAC-) 5(FACU-) 6(FAC*) 7(FAC*) 8(FACU) 9(FACU) 0(FACU*)

Related Plants

Browse Plants by State

Alabama Alaska Arizona Arkansas California Colorado Connecticut Delaware Florida Georgia Hawaii Idaho Illinois Indiana Iowa Kansas Kentucky Louisiana Maine Maryland Massachusetts Michigan Minnesota Mississippi Missouri Montana Nebraska Nevada New Hampshire New Jersey New Mexico New York North Carolina North Dakota Ohio Oklahoma Oregon Pennsylvania Rhode Island South Carolina South Dakota Tennessee Texas Utah Vermont Virginia Washington West Virginia Wisconsin Wyoming