Little Quakinggrass (Briza minor)


Briza Minor, or more commonly know as Little Quakinggrass, is a graminoid of the genus Briza. Its duration is annual which means it grows for one season only. Briza Minor or Little Quakinggrass's floral region is North America US Lower 48 and Hawaii, specifically in the states of Alabama, Arkansas, California, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Louisiana, Maryland, Mississippi, North Carolina, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia and Washington.

  • Category: Monocot
  • Genus: Briza
  • Family: Poaceae
  • Order: Cyperales
  • Class: Liliopsida
  • Division: Magnoliophyta
  • Duration: Annual
  • Growth Habit: Graminoid
  • Native Status: L48 (I) HI (I) CAN (I)
  • National Wetland Indicator Status: FAC FACW
  • Regional Wetland Indicator Status: 1(FACW) 2(FAC) 6(FAC+) 9(FAC) 0(FACW-)

Browse Plants by State

Alabama Alaska Arizona Arkansas California Colorado Connecticut Delaware Florida Georgia Hawaii Idaho Illinois Indiana Iowa Kansas Kentucky Louisiana Maine Maryland Massachusetts Michigan Minnesota Mississippi Missouri Montana Nebraska Nevada New Hampshire New Jersey New Mexico New York North Carolina North Dakota Ohio Oklahoma Oregon Pennsylvania Rhode Island South Carolina South Dakota Tennessee Texas Utah Vermont Virginia Washington West Virginia Wisconsin Wyoming