Heartleaf Four O'Clock (Mirabilis nyctaginea)


Mirabilis Nyctaginea, or more commonly know as Heartleaf Four O'Clock, is a forb/herb (a forb/herb is a non-woody plant that is not a grass) of the genus Mirabilis. Its duration is perennial which means it will grow year after year. Mirabilis Nyctaginea or Heartleaf Four O'Clock's floral region is North America US Lower 48, specifically in the states of Alabama, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Iowa, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Louisiana, Massachusetts, Maryland, Maine, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Mississippi, Montana, North Carolina, North Dakota, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, Nevada, New York, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, Vermont, Washington, Wisconsin and Wyoming.

  • Category: Dicot
  • Genus: Mirabilis
  • Family: Nyctaginaceae
  • Order: Caryophyllales
  • Class: Magnoliopsida
  • Division: Magnoliophyta
  • Duration: Perennial
  • Growth Habit: Forb/herb
  • Native Status: L48 (N) CAN (N)
  • State Noxious Status: WA (CAW NWSPQ)
  • State Noxious Common Name: WA (wild four o'clock wild four o'clock umbrella-wort)
  • PLANTS Invasive Status: NE&GP STATE
  • National Wetland Indicator Status: UPL FACU
  • Regional Wetland Indicator Status: 1(FACU-) 2(FACU) 3(UPL*) 4(UPL) 5(UPL) 6(UPL) 7(UPL) 8(NI) 9(FACU*) 0(UPL)

Browse Plants by State

Alabama Alaska Arizona Arkansas California Colorado Connecticut Delaware Florida Georgia Hawaii Idaho Illinois Indiana Iowa Kansas Kentucky Louisiana Maine Maryland Massachusetts Michigan Minnesota Mississippi Missouri Montana Nebraska Nevada New Hampshire New Jersey New Mexico New York North Carolina North Dakota Ohio Oklahoma Oregon Pennsylvania Rhode Island South Carolina South Dakota Tennessee Texas Utah Vermont Virginia Washington West Virginia Wisconsin Wyoming