Eastern Poison Ivy (Toxicodendron radicans)


Toxicodendron Radicans, or more commonly know as Eastern Poison Ivy, is a shrub forb/herb subshrub of the genus Toxicodendron. Its duration is perennial which means it will grow year after year. Toxicodendron Radicans or Eastern Poison Ivy's floral region is North America US Lower 48, specifically in the states of Alabama, Arkansas, Arizona, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Iowa, Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Louisiana, Massachusetts, Maryland, Maine, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Mississippi, North Carolina, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia, Vermont and Wisconsin.

  • Category: Dicot
  • Genus: Toxicodendron
  • Family: Anacardiaceae
  • Order: Sapindales
  • Class: Magnoliopsida
  • Division: Magnoliophyta
  • Duration: Perennial
  • Growth Habit: Shrub Forb/herb Subshrub
  • Native Status: L48 (N) CAN (N)
  • State Noxious Status: MN (PNW)
  • State Noxious Common Name: MN (poison ivy)
  • National Wetland Indicator Status: FACU FACW
  • Regional Wetland Indicator Status: 1(FAC) 2(FAC) 3(FAC+) 4(FACU) 5(FACU) 6(FAC) 7(FACW) 8(FACU) 9(FACU)

Browse Plants by State

Alabama Alaska Arizona Arkansas California Colorado Connecticut Delaware Florida Georgia Hawaii Idaho Illinois Indiana Iowa Kansas Kentucky Louisiana Maine Maryland Massachusetts Michigan Minnesota Mississippi Missouri Montana Nebraska Nevada New Hampshire New Jersey New Mexico New York North Carolina North Dakota Ohio Oklahoma Oregon Pennsylvania Rhode Island South Carolina South Dakota Tennessee Texas Utah Vermont Virginia Washington West Virginia Wisconsin Wyoming