Bull Thistle (Cirsium vulgare)


Cirsium Vulgare, or more commonly know as Bull Thistle, is a forb/herb (a forb/herb is a non-woody plant that is not a grass) of the genus Cirsium. Its duration is biennial or bi-annual which means it can grow or bloom twice, in the first year and the following year. Cirsium Vulgare or Bull Thistle's floral region is North America US Lower 48, Alaska and Hawaii, specifically in the states of Alaska, Alabama, Arkansas, Arizona, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Iowa, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Louisiana, Massachusetts, Maryland, Maine, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Mississippi, Montana, North Carolina, North Dakota, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, Nevada, New York, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, Vermont, Washington, Wisconsin and Wyoming.

  • Category: Dicot
  • Genus: Cirsium
  • Family: Asteraceae
  • Order: Asterales
  • Class: Magnoliopsida
  • Division: Magnoliophyta
  • Duration: Biennial
  • Growth Habit: Forb/herb
  • Native Status: L48 (I) AK (I) HI (I) CAN (I) SPM (I)
  • State Noxious Status: CO (BW) MD (NW) MN (PNW) NM (CBW) OR (BDW Q) PA (NW) WA (CCW)
  • State Noxious Common Name: CO (bull thistle) MD (bull thistle) MN (bull thistle) NM (bull thistle) OR (bull thistle) PA (bull thistle spear thistle) WA (bull thistle)
  • National Wetland Indicator Status: UPL FAC
  • Regional Wetland Indicator Status: 1(FACU-) 2(FAC) 3(FACU-) 4(UPL) 5(UPL) 6(FACU) 7(FACU) 8(FAC) 9(FACU) 0(FACU) A(NI) H(NI)

Related Plants

Browse Plants by State

Alabama Alaska Arizona Arkansas California Colorado Connecticut Delaware Florida Georgia Hawaii Idaho Illinois Indiana Iowa Kansas Kentucky Louisiana Maine Maryland Massachusetts Michigan Minnesota Mississippi Missouri Montana Nebraska Nevada New Hampshire New Jersey New Mexico New York North Carolina North Dakota Ohio Oklahoma Oregon Pennsylvania Rhode Island South Carolina South Dakota Tennessee Texas Utah Vermont Virginia Washington West Virginia Wisconsin Wyoming