Biennial Wormwood (Artemisia biennis)

  • Biennial Wormwood (Artemisia Biennis)
    Credit: Kathleen McGwin | private | License: PD
  • Biennial Wormwood (Artemisia Biennis)
    Credit: Britton, N.L., and A. Brown. | http://plants.usda.g... | License: PD US Government PD USDA NRCS

Artemisia Biennis, or more commonly know as Biennial Wormwood, is a forb/herb (a forb/herb is a non-woody plant that is not a grass) of the genus Artemisia. Its duration is annual which means it grows for one season only. Artemisia Biennis or Biennial Wormwood's floral region is North America US Lower 48 and Alaska, specifically in the states of Alaska, Arizona, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Iowa, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Massachusetts, Maryland, Maine, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Montana, North Dakota, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, Nevada, New York, Ohio, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Utah, Vermont, Washington, Wisconsin and Wyoming.

  • Category: Dicot
  • Genus: Artemisia
  • Family: Asteraceae
  • Order: Asterales
  • Class: Magnoliopsida
  • Division: Magnoliophyta
  • Duration: Annual Biennial
  • Growth Habit: Forb/herb
  • Native Status: L48 (NI) AK (I) CAN (I)
  • PLANTS Invasive Status: NE&GP WSWS
  • National Wetland Indicator Status: FACU- FACW
  • Regional Wetland Indicator Status: 1(FACU-) 2(FAC) 3(FACW-) 4(FAC) 5(FACU-) 7(FACW) 8(FACW) 9(FACW) 0(FAC) A(FAC)

Browse Plants by State

Alabama Alaska Arizona Arkansas California Colorado Connecticut Delaware Florida Georgia Hawaii Idaho Illinois Indiana Iowa Kansas Kentucky Louisiana Maine Maryland Massachusetts Michigan Minnesota Mississippi Missouri Montana Nebraska Nevada New Hampshire New Jersey New Mexico New York North Carolina North Dakota Ohio Oklahoma Oregon Pennsylvania Rhode Island South Carolina South Dakota Tennessee Texas Utah Vermont Virginia Washington West Virginia Wisconsin Wyoming