Allegheny Plum (Prunus alleghaniensis)

Allegheny Plum (Prunus Alleghaniensis)
Credit: USDA-NRCS PLANTS Database / Britton, N.L., and A. Brown. 1913. An illustrated flora of the northern United States, Canada and the British Possessions. Vol. 2: 323. | USDA | License: PD USDA

Prunus Alleghaniensis, or more commonly know as Allegheny Plum, is a tree shrub of the genus Prunus. Its duration is perennial which means it will grow year after year. Prunus Alleghaniensis or Allegheny Plum's floral region is North America US Lower 48, specifically in the states of Connecticut, Massachusetts, Maryland, Michigan, North Carolina, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Tennessee and Virginia.

  • Category: Dicot
  • Genus: Prunus
  • Family: Rosaceae
  • Order: Rosales
  • Class: Magnoliopsida
  • Division: Magnoliophyta
  • Duration: Perennial
  • Growth Habit: Tree Shrub
  • Native Status: L48 (N)
  • State T/E Status: CT (SC) MD (T) NJ (E) PA (T)
  • State T/E Common Name: CT (Alleghany plum) MD (Alleghany plum) NJ (Allegheny plum) PA (Allegheny plum)
  • National Wetland Indicator Status: UPL NI
  • Regional Wetland Indicator Status: 1(UPL) 3(NI)

Browse Plants by State

Alabama Alaska Arizona Arkansas California Colorado Connecticut Delaware Florida Georgia Hawaii Idaho Illinois Indiana Iowa Kansas Kentucky Louisiana Maine Maryland Massachusetts Michigan Minnesota Mississippi Missouri Montana Nebraska Nevada New Hampshire New Jersey New Mexico New York North Carolina North Dakota Ohio Oklahoma Oregon Pennsylvania Rhode Island South Carolina South Dakota Tennessee Texas Utah Vermont Virginia Washington West Virginia Wisconsin Wyoming